Network-connected UltiMaker 3D printers set up in the Digital Factory benefit from online services provided by UltiMaker. To ensure that your printer is equipped with the latest features, the printer must be running the latest firmware.
Note: Some functionalities may not or not yet be available for certain printer models.
What cloud features does my printer have?
Select your printer model below to see which features are available.
Factor 4
The UltiMaker Factor 4 can make full use of all cloud features developed by UltiMaker when set up in the Digital Factory.
You can remotely start, pause, and abort print jobs. Additional features include monitoring the print jobs' progress via the built-in camera and managing the print queue. Print jobs in the queue can be reordered or sent to a different printer, and print jobs from both the queue and the history can be reprinted.
Printers will show their current configuration in the Digital Factory. Easily see which print cores are installed and which materials are available for each extruder.
You can change the firmware channel (Stable or Latest) via the Printer settings menu, and remotely update the firmware version. Also in this menu, workspace Admins can activate or deactivate the firewall or set a PIN code lock to access the settings menu on the printer.
Note: Only workspace Admins can change these settings, not users with a Member role (or Guest role when using Professional) who have access to the printer.
UltiMaker S series
UltiMaker S series printers can make full use of all cloud features developed by UltiMaker when they are set up in the Digital Factory.
- UltiMaker S3
- UltiMaker S5
- UltiMaker S6 / S6 Flex
- UltiMaker S7
- UltiMaker S8
Note: While it is always recommended to keep the firmware up to date, S series printers must run at least firmware version 6.5.2 to connect to the cloud. Printers running older firmware cannot connect to the Digital Factory due to expired certificates.
You can remotely start, pause, and abort print jobs. Additional features include monitoring the print jobs' progress via the built-in camera and managing the print queue. Print jobs in the queue can be reordered or sent to a different printer, and print jobs from both the queue and the history can be reprinted.
Tip: Print jobs prepared for the UltiMaker S5 can also be sent to the UltiMaker S7 and vice versa.
Printers will show their current configuration in the Digital Factory. Additionally, if the printers have installed peripherals (Air Manager and/or Material Station), the Digital Factory will show this as well. For UltiMaker S5, S6, S7 and S8 printers with a Material Station, the Digital Factory will display all available material configurations.
You can change the firmware channel (Stable or Latest) via the Printer settings menu, and remotely update the firmware version. Also in this menu, workspace Admins can activate or deactivate the firewall or set a PIN code lock to access the settings menu on the printer.
Note: Only workspace Admins can change these settings, not users with a Member role (or Guest role when using Professional) who have access to the printer.
Ultimaker 3 series
Ultimaker 3 printers with firmware version 5.3.0 can be connected to the Digital Factory and make use of several convenient cloud features.
Note: Ultimaker 3 series printers running older firmware cannot connect to the Digital Factory due to expired certificates.
You can remotely start, pause, and abort print jobs. Additional features include monitoring the print jobs' progress via the built-in camera and managing the print queue. Print jobs in the queue can be reordered or sent to a different printer (of the same model), and print jobs from both the queue and the history can be reprinted. The Digital Factory will show the configurations of all connected Ultimaker 3 and Ultimaker 3 Extended printers.
Note: Ultimaker 3 series printers are End of Life as of January 2025. While currently supported in Digital Factory no technical support is available related to the Ultimaker 3 series of printers.
UltiMaker 2+ Connect
The UltiMaker 2+ Connect has limited features in the Digital Factory. Printers can be connected to the workspace and shared with others. However, the UltiMaker 2+ Connect does not allow print job queuing; only one print job can be submitted to the printer at a time, and the printer can only accept new print jobs if it is in an idle state.
Note: You cannot send print jobs to the UltiMaker 2+ Connect if it is turned off, printing, awaiting cleanup, or while performing maintenance actions or configuration changes. The UltiMaker 2+ Connect also cannot accept print jobs via the local network, only via cloud.
The UltiMaker 2+ Connect does not contain a camera. The Digital Factory will show the print progress, but you cannot view the print job during printing via the cloud.
The Digital Factory will show the current configuration of the printer, including the loaded material and the nozzle size. Please note that the nozzle size is not automatically detected by the printer and must be set manually via the printer's display when the nozzle is changed.
Method series
The Method series printers can be added to your Digital Factory workspace since late 2023.
Prepare your print jobs for you Method series printer in the Prepare tab, which is a cloud slicer powered by UltiMaker Cura. Send the print job directly to the printer, or place it in the queue.
In the Print Jobs overview, or when selecting a specific printer, you can manage the queue and ongoing print jobs. Monitor the print jobs' progress via the built-in camera. Print jobs in the queue can be reordered or sent to a different printer, and print jobs from both the queue and the history can be reprinted.
The Digital Factory will show the current configuration of the printer, including the extruder types and the loaded materials.
Sketch series
The Sketch series printers can be added to your Digital Factory workspace since late 2023.
Prepare your print jobs for you Sketch series printer in the Prepare tab, which is a cloud slicer powered by UltiMaker Cura. Send the print job directly to the printer, or place it in the queue.
In the Print Jobs overview, or when selecting a specific printer, you can manage the queue and ongoing print jobs. Monitor the print jobs' progress via the built-in camera. Print jobs in the queue can be reordered or sent to a different printer, and print jobs from both the queue and the history can be reprinted.
The Digital Factory will show the current printer status and configuration of the printer (extruder type and the loaded material).
Tip: You can connect multiple printers of different types to your Digital Factory workspace and they can be shared with others. The different available features per printer only affect print job management, not printer sharing.