Roles and permissions

As your Digital Factory organization grows, you will want to keep order by limiting who can do what. For example, if people mistakenly remove printers from the organization, it can be very confusing for others who wonder where their printers have disappeared to. To prevent these kinds of mistakes, we advise you to limit the permissions people have to only what they need to do their work. Organization admins can control the permissions users have by assigning roles to them.

 

Table of contents

General explanation of user roles

How to assign a role to a user

Permissions in detail

Printers

Print jobs

Cura

Library

Organization and teams

Other access points

 

General explanation of user roles

A user has permission to use a given feature when the following are true:

  1. The user is in an organization that has the feature as part of a subscription (See our plans here)
  2. The user has the proper user role (see the tables below
  3. The user has have access to assets affected by the feature, such as printers, projects, and teams

The different kinds of roles a user can have are described below.

Admin:

  • Has access to and can manipulate all printers, all shared projects, and all teams within the organization
  • Can make changes to all printers, shared projects, and teams within the organization
  • Is the only role that can invite people to the organization

Member:

  • Has access to
    • Printers that are shared with them or those they added themselves to the organization
    • Projects that are shared with them or those they create themselves
    • Teams they create or those they are a member of
  • Can make changes to printers and projects which are shared with them or their teams
  • Can change the print jobs and projects from others
  • Cannot invite people to the organization

Guest:

  • Has access to
    • Printers that are shared with them
    • Projects that are shared with them or those they created themselves
    • Teams they are a member of
  • Can start print jobs, create projects, and share projects
  • Cannot change anything about printers, others print jobs, or projects
  • Cannot invite people to the organization and not create teams

The guest user role is only available to organizations with a Professional, Excellence, or Education subscription plan.

Note: The description of the roles above is a rough summary, for detailed information see the permissions in detail section below.

How to assign a role to a user 

Only Admins can assign roles to users in Digital Factory. The steps are as follows:

  1. Go to the organization page
  2. Find the user in the list
  3. Select the new role from the Role list in the drop-down list

Change_role.gif

Permissions in detail

Printers

The Guest role is intended for users who may print objects but are tasked with administrating the printer itself. The Member role allows more actions on the printer, except for those related to security such as enabling or disabling the firewall.

Permissions per role:

  Guest Member Admin
See printers (and start print jobs) Only printers that are shared with them Printers they added themselves or those that are shared with them All printers in the organization
Add / delete printers No Yes Yes
Share / unshare printers No Yes Yes
Update firmware  No Yes Yes
Enable / disable firewall No No Yes
Download reports No Yes Yes
Enable / Disable printer No Yes Yes
Rename printer No Yes Yes
Sync material profiles via Digital Factory to printers from Cura No Yes Yes


Print jobs & Notifications

The roles are designed so that users with the Member or Admin roles can plan print jobs and distribute them over printers. Guest users however would not be permitted to interfere with this planning or the print jobs from other users.

Permissions per role:

  Guest Member Admin
Send a print job via Cura Yes Yes Yes
Reprint in Digital Factory Only for own print jobs* Yes Yes
Reroute a print job to another printer No Yes Yes
Abort own print jobs / delete own jobs from queue Only for own print jobs* Yes Yes
Pause / resume print job No Yes Yes
Reorder print job queue of a printer No Yes Yes
Receive notifications Only for own print jobs* Can choose between own print jobs and print jobs from printers they can access

Can choose between own print jobs and print jobs from all printers in organization

* "Own print jobs" are print jobs that are sent to Digital Factory by the user themselves either from Cura or within Digital Factory, or were reprinted by the user, or started from a project.


Library

The library projects are a way of sharing information about print jobs.

Permissions per role:

  Guest Member Admin
See projects Projects they created themselves and projects that are shared with them. Projects they created themselves and projects that are shared with them. Projects they created themselves and all projects that are shared with someone
Print from a library project Yes Yes Yes
Create a library project Yes Yes Yes
Delete a (shared) library project Only if they created it Yes Yes
Share a library project Only if they created it and only share to a team Share to a team and the whole organization Share to a team and the whole organization
Upload files to a (shared) library project Only if they created it, and they have access Only if they have access Yes for all projects
Edit content of a library project Only if they created it, and they have access Only if they have access Yes for all projects
Download library project report No No Yes


Organization & Teams

The Admin role is the only role permitted to invite users from outside the organization into the organization. Those with the Member role can then organize which users get access to printers and projects. This is done by grouping users into teams and sharing printers and projects. 

Permissions per role:

  Guest Member Admin
Invite users to organization
No No Yes
Remove users from organization
No No Yes
Change users' role No No Yes
Create team / add user to team / remove user No Yes Yes

 

Other access points

  • If you are logged into Digital Factory via Cura, then the same permissions are enforced as those in the Digital Factory website. Older versions of Cura don't inform the user that they don't have permission to use a certain feature. 
  • There are no permissions set for the use of plugins or materials in their installation of Cura.
  • Anyone can create an account for use with Digital Factory, Cura, Marketplace, etc. But an admin needs to invite them to the Digital Factory organization.
  • There are no permissions that can be set by users in the Contributor Portal.
  • The same permissions can apply for applications built on top of the Digital Factory API's as long as the user accounts and permission systems from the Digital Factory API's are used.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.