When editing profiles, users might want to switch to a different profile, while the current profile has changes that are unsaved. Ultimaker Cura has a built-in feature that prompts the user on ‘what to do with unsaved changes'.
In the following example, a ‘Normal profile’ is loaded with some user changes made:
User changes from the pre-configured profile are marked by the ‘reset button and italic font’ (7) in the printing profile. With these unsaved changes (6), the ‘Fine profile’ is selected. A pop-up appears asking what to do with my unsaved changes. There are three options:
- Keep (4). Keep the unsaved changes, they will be injected into the ‘fine’ profile, resulting in a ‘fine profile’ with the same modifications as performed in the previous profile
- Discard (5). Discard the unsaved changes, the ‘Fine’ profile will load as the protected, unchanged profile
- Create new profile (3). The displayed settings will be saved as a new profile, and the ‘fine profile’ will load as the protected, unchanged profile
By default, this pop-up will always show so that the user can make a decision. To prevent this popup if discarding or keeping the changes a lot, the behavior can be changed to:
- Discard and never ask again
- Keep and never ask again
If changed to never ask again, the option can be re-introduced through the Preferences menu.