Often, the log files of a printer can contain valuable information to help troubleshoot and diagnose what went wrong within a printer. You may be asked by a support representative for log files of your machine.
Important notes before saving the logs
The logs are often requested to check errors and certain printer behavior. Therefore, it is important that the behavior that we want to analyze is visible in the logs. The logs or log lines can be deleted or overwritten in certain scenarios. Please take the following into account before you save the logs of your printer:
Update the firmware
UltiMaker support can only assist with troubleshooting if the printer is running the most recent firmware (for Factor 4 and S series, this can be Stable or Latest). Older versions may have known bugs or issues, or show incomplete information in the logs.
Note: Updating the firmware will delete the logs. Check if the issue is still present after updating and save the logs after reproducing the problem.
Power cycle / reset the printer
If the printer has been on for a long time and the issue occurred a while ago, it is possible that the event is no longer shown in the log files. Newer log lines will eventually overwrite older events if the logs become too big. Power cycle the printer or reset all printer settings and check if the issue presents itself again.
Note: Resetting the printer settings will delete the logs. Check if the issue is still present after the reset and save the logs after reproducing the problem.
Reproduce the issue
Besides the two points listed above, for easy findability of the problem, it is best if the problem occurred very recently before the logs were saved. If the issue is easily reproducible, please do this and save the log files immediately after.
Clear the USB drive
To prevent confusion and to ensure you will share the correct set of logs, first check the contents of the USB stick. If there are older log files already on the USB, remove them before exporting the new set of logs.
Note: Factor 4 automatically saves the logs if there is an error and a USB stick is inserted into the printer. Make sure that the logs are old and irrelevant before deleting them.
Exporting the logs
Most UltiMaker 3D printers have the option to save the log files to a USB stick. Where to find this option in the printer menu is shown in the section below. When you have found the option, please take the following steps:
- Ensure a USB stick is inserted into the printer.
- Export the log files to your USB stick (see the section below).
- Check the files on your computer. The files could be zipped or individual files (see the note below). If there are multiple files (such as .log, .log.gz, or tar.gz) select all and zip them. Please make sure to select and zip all of the exported files.
- Share the .zip file with UltiMaker support.
Note: Factor 4, S series, Method, and Sketch export the log files as a single .zip file for convenience. The UltiMaker 3 and 2+ Connect export individual files.
Instructions per printer series
Tip: If the accordions do not expand when you click on them, please refresh the page.
Factor 4
From the Options menu (gear icon), go to Maintenance → Diagnostics, then select Save log files to USB.
Note: Exporting the logs may take up to a few minutes to complete. Do not remove the USB drive until the export is completed.
UltiMaker S series
From the Options menu (gear icon), go to Maintenance → Diagnostics, then select Save log files to USB.
Note: Exporting the logs may take up to a few minutes to complete. Do not remove the USB drive until the export is completed.
UltiMaker 3
On the display, navigate to: SYSTEM → Maintenance → Diagnostics, then select Dump logs to USB.
UltiMaker 2+ Connect
Select the Maintenance icon, scroll down to Diagnostics, and press Export log files.
Method / Method X / Method XL
Select Advanced Settings, scroll down to Copy logs to USB.
Sketch / Sketch Large
Select Settings, Select Utilities Go to page 4 - Select Copy Logs, Select Copy Log.